The Kuala Selangor District Council was established in 1978 through the Selangor State Law Handbill 18/78. It is a conurbation of 5 local council:

  • Kuala Selangor Local Council
  • Tanjong Karang Local Council
  • Batang Berjuntai (Bestari Jaya) Local Council
  • Ijok Local Council
  • Jeram Local Council


Within a period of 38 years after its inception, MDKS underwent a series of expansion of its jurisdiction area commencing with the gazetting of the area as shown on the PW 459 gazette plan, gazetted on 6 February 1978, followed by PW 646 on 15 November 1986, PW 981 on 1 December 1994. Its final area expansion was through PW 1414 on 25 February 2006 which covers the whole area of Kuala Selangor District. MDKS administrative area covers small towns such as Pekan Kuala Selangor, Ijok, Jeram, Assam Jawa, Bukit Rotan, Seri Tiram Setia, Tanjong Karang, Sungai Janggut, Sungai Sembilang, Bestari Jaya, Kampung Kuantan, Sungai Buloh, Pasir Penambang. Also involved were new development areas such as Puncak Alam, Saujana Utama dan Desa Coalfields.


The development control and planning of KSDC is exercised in accordance with the laws and regulations such as the Local Government Act 1976 (Act 171), Town and Country Planning Act 1976 (Act 172), the Street, Drainage and Building Act 1974 (Act 133), the Building and Common Property (Maintenance and Management) Act 2007 (Act 663), Entertainment and Places of Entertainment Enactment, MDKS By-Laws (20 BL) as well as based on the decisions of the Selangor State Executive Council Meeting from time to time.

Basic Information on Kuala Selangor District Council

  • Total area of KSDC is 119,452.46 hectares.
  • Residents of KSDC as of 2011 are 272,980 people.
  • Rateable property holding as of January 2013 amounted to a total of 58,893unit holdings.

Source : 2015 Kuala Selangor RTD

Last Updated: Friday, 27 January 2023 - 8:10am